may & june wrap up: new goal of 250 books

Hello friends! I’m back with another wrap up. I know I say this all the time, but I can’t believe that 2022 is already half-way done and dusted. Where have the time gone?! It only felt like yesterday when I celebrated the arrival of the new year and we’re closer to the next year than before. With May and June over, I’ve officially finished more than 200 books, which means I need to move my Goodreads goal forward once more. My new goal: 250 books!

I might do a mid-year check-in soon. For now, though, I’m hoping to clear more books off of my 2022 anticipated releases list. There are far too many on there that I haven’t read yet.

Table of Content
❀ May
❀ June

year-long reading challenges:
popsugar (🍩) beat the backlist (🎞) year of the asian (πŸͺ·) around the year in 52 books (πŸ›Ί)

⁺ β˜β‹† ΰ­­ ⋆*☁

may.

In this month, I focused mainly on Asian books written by Asian authors. I read 28 Asian books and 9 more by non-Asian authors. In total, May brought in 37 books! Despite it being a busy month, I’m glad that I read that much. I took Asian Heritage Month to clear off as many books as I can, but it seems like I only focused on books released in 2020-2022, nothing passed that, which is a shame. Something different is that I read far more contemporary romances than fantasy. I had plans to finish up some series but get to them this time around.

I’ve read many new releases in May. It would take ages to list and talk about every single one of them. I’ll highlight some of my favourites.

2022 releases,
πŸ₯€ Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor by Xiran Jay Zhao ➀ I vowed from Iron Widow that I’ll read anything the author will be publishing in the future so I picked up her middle grade novel. As expected, they excelled in portraying Chinese mythology and legends in their books while adding their own twists.
πŸ₯€ Everything For You by Chloe Liese ➀ The author always know how to write heartwarming stories about the most endearing characters. Each book focuses on a different sibling, and it’s no different with this new instalment.
πŸ₯€ Once Upon a K-Prom by Kat Cho ➀ If you’re looking for an easy, quick, and entertaining read, you should pick up this contemporary romance featuring childhood friends, one of them returning to their hometown as a famous K-Pop idol.

books read

readathon: asian readathon
challengesbook chosenrating
🍩πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ loveboat reunion – abigail hing wen✰✰✰½
🎞πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ first love, take two – sajni patel✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ my sister’s big fat indian wedding – sajni patel✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ a thousand steps into night – traci chee✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ the jasmine project – meredith ireland✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ debating darcy – sayantani dasgupta✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ winnie zeng unleashes a legend – katie zhao✰✰✰✰
🎞πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ the shaadi set-up – lillie vale✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ shadow of the batgirl – sarah kuhn✰✰✰½
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ once more upon a time – roshani chokshi✰✰✰✰
πŸ›ΊπŸͺ·πŸ₯€ the donut trap – julie tieu✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ the singles table – sara desai✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ when night breaks – janella angeles✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ siren queen – nghi vo✰✰✰
🍩🎞πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ made in korea – sarah suk✰✰✰✰
πŸ›ΊπŸͺ·πŸ₯€ donut fall in love – jackie lau✰✰✰½
🍩πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ zachary ying and the dragon emperor – xiran jay zhao✰✰✰✰
🎞πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ love, chai, and other four-letter woods – annika sharma✰✰✰½
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ violet evergarden gaiden – kana akatsuki✰✰✰✰½
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ the righteous – renΓ©e ahdieh✰✰✰½
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ tahira in bloom – farah heron✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ once upon a k-prom – kat cho✰✰✰✰
πŸ©πŸŽžπŸ›ΊπŸͺ·πŸ₯€ the bronzed beasts – roshani chokshi✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ beauty and the besharam – lillie vale✰✰✰
🍩πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ only a monster – vanessa len✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ sway with me – syed m. masood✰✰✰✰
🍩πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ tokyo dreaming – emiko jean✰✰✰½
non-readathon
challengesbook chosenrating
πŸ₯€ under one roof – ali hazelwood✰✰✰✰
πŸ›ΊπŸ₯€ fiona and the enigmatic earl – grace callaway✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ a greene family vacation – piper rayne✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ book lovers – emily henry✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ shuri and t’challa: into the heartlands (an original black panther graphic novel) – roseanne a. brown✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ the bride goes rogue – joanna shupe✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ desperately seeking a duchess – christi caldwell✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ everything for you – chloe liese✰✰✰✰½
πŸ₯€ meeting mr. anderson – elle nicoll✰✰✰

blog posts

⁺ β˜β‹† ΰ­­ ⋆*☁

jun.

I barely read that much in June since I was a little burned out from reading and blogging constantly in May. Spent most of my time in June reading Christi Caldwell’s historical romance novels. Barely touched any fantasy or contemporary books since I was oddly in the mood of historical romances. Regardless of my mood though, I still managed to pick up Grandmaster of Demonic Cultivation Volume 2 when the physical copy was delivered. Had to put everything down to read it. With This Wicked Fate, I finished the duology by Kalynn Bayron. I really liked it, can’t wait for more by the author.

books read

challengesbook chosenrating
πŸ₯€ my professor – r.s. grey✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ a rush of wings – laura e. weymouth✰✰✰½
🎞πŸ₯€ seductive secrets – colleen connally✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ call me crazy – melanie harlow✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ the coldest touch – isabel sterling✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ stuck with you – ali hazelwood✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ my killer vacation – tessa bailey✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ tempting the cowboy – kennedy fox✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ not my problem – ciara smyth✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ the italian – t.l. swan✰✰½
πŸ₯€ talk flirty to me – livy hart✰✰✰✰
🍩πŸ₯€ between the devil and the duke – kelly bowen✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ grandmaster of demonic cultivation volume 2 – moxiang tongxiu✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ the wedding wager – eva devon✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ terms and conditions – lauren asher✰✰✰
🎞πŸ₯€ for love of the duke – christi caldwell✰✰✰✰
🍩πŸ₯€ a mirror mended – alix e. harrow✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ in need of a duke – christi caldwell✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ more than a duke – christi caldwell✰✰✰✰
πŸ©πŸ›ΊπŸ₯€ deacon king kong – james mcbride✰✰✰✰
🍩πŸ₯€ this wicked fate – kalynn bayron✰✰✰✰
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ boys i know – anna gracia✰✰
πŸ₯€ the love of a rogue – christi caldwell✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ loved by a duke – christi caldwell✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ to love a lord – christi caldwell✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ the heart of a scoundrel – christi caldwell✰✰✰✰
πŸ₯€ to wed his christmas lady – christi caldwell✰✰✰½
πŸͺ·πŸ₯€ namaikizakari volume 1-23 – mitsubachi miyuki✰✰✰✰

blog posts

⁺ β˜β‹† ΰ­­ ⋆*☁

that’s the end of my wrap up for may and june! πŸ’š

6 thoughts on “may & june wrap up: new goal of 250 books”

  1. BELLE!!! i love your new header!!! i’m honestly always in awe of how many books you manage to read – even more so considering i’ve been slumping lately but omg!!! so many amazing books, and so many amazing posts written!! i missed you ❀️❀️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you! it takes a lot to read books and write blog posts. it’s good to take breaks once in a while. i usually write posts in advance and then give myself some space to breathe while i continue posting. i missed you too! i hope life is treating you well ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment