the red palace – june hur | arc review

The Red Palace by June Hur StandaloneExpected publication: January 25th 2022 by Feiwel & FriendsAge Range: Young AdultGenre: Historical Fiction, Mystery, RomanceRep: Korean Rating: ★★★★★ Synopsis: Joseon (Korea), 1758. There are few options available to illegitimate daughters in the capital city, but through hard work and study, eighteen-year-old Hyeon has earned a position as a palace… Continue reading the red palace – june hur | arc review

within these wicked walls – lauren blackwood | arc review

Within These Wicked Walls by Lauren Blackwood StandalonePublished October 19th 2021 by Wednesday BooksAge Range: Young AdultGenre: Fantasy, Horror, RetellingRepresentation: Ethiopian-inspired Rating: ★★★★ Synopsis: What the heart desires, the house destroys... Andromeda is a debtera—an exorcist hired to cleanse households of the Evil Eye. When a handsome young heir named Magnus Rochester reaches out to hire… Continue reading within these wicked walls – lauren blackwood | arc review

jade fire gold – june c.l. tan | blog tour + arc review

Jade Fire Gold by June C.L. Tan StandaloneExpected publication: October 12th 2021 by HarperTeenAge Range: Young AdultGenre: FantasyRepresentation: POC (Chinese-coded characters), LGBTQ+ (side sapphic and gay romances) Rating: ★★★★ Synopsis: Girls of Paper and Fire meets The Tiger at Midnight in June CL Tan’s stunning debut, inspired by Chinese mythology, with rich magic and an… Continue reading jade fire gold – june c.l. tan | blog tour + arc review

everything i never told you & little fires everywhere – celeste ng | reviews

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng StandalonePublished June 26th 2014 by Penguin PressAge Range: AdultGenre: Literary Fiction, Mystery, Historical FictionRepresentation: Mental Health, Asian-American characters Rating: ★★★★★ Synopsis: Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet.So begins this exquisite novel about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the… Continue reading everything i never told you & little fires everywhere – celeste ng | reviews

dial a for aunties – jesse q. sutanto | review

Dial A for Aunties by Jesse Q. Sutanto StandalonePublished April 27th 2021 by BerkleyAge Range: AdultGenre: Contemporary, Mystery, RomanceRepresentation: Indonesian-Chinese cast Rating: ★★★★ Synopsis: A hilariously quirky novel that is equal parts murder mystery, rom-com, and a celebration of mothers and daughters as well as a deep dive into Chinese-Indonesian culture, by debut author Jesse… Continue reading dial a for aunties – jesse q. sutanto | review

the forest of stolen girls – june hur | review

The Forest of Stolen Girls by June Hur StandalonePublished April 20th 2021 by Feiwel & FriendsAge Range: Young AdultGenre: Historical Fiction, MysteryRepresentation: Korean cast Rating: ★★★★★ Synopsis: Hwani's family has never been the same since she and her younger sister went missing and were later found unconscious in the forest, near a gruesome crime scene.… Continue reading the forest of stolen girls – june hur | review

35 science fiction/fantasy standalone of july to december 2021

Moving past the halfway mark of 2021 means that I'm finally able to talk about the upcoming releases that are on my radar. For today's list, I've purposefully spotlighted standalone novels in the science fiction and fantasy genres. There's a mixture of middle grade, young adult and adult books for your enjoyment. This post will… Continue reading 35 science fiction/fantasy standalone of july to december 2021

gearbreakers – zoe hana mikuta | blog tour + arc review

Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta Series: GearbreakersExpected publication: June 29th 2021 by Feiwel & FriendsAge Range: Young AdultGenre: Science Fiction, LGBT Representation: Korean queer Rating: ★★★★ Synopsis: Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they're fighting for a common purpose--and falling for each other--in Zoe Hana Mikuta's high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce… Continue reading gearbreakers – zoe hana mikuta | blog tour + arc review

you should see me in a crown – leah johnson | review

You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson StandalonePublished June 2nd 2020 by Scholastic PressAge Range: Young AdultGenre: Contemporary, Romance, LGBTRepresentation: Black, queer (f/f romance), anxiety, panic attacks, disability Rating: ★★★★★ Synopsis: Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed midwestern town.… Continue reading you should see me in a crown – leah johnson | review

the song of achilles – madeline miller | review

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller StandalonePublished September 20th 2011 by Bloomsbury PublishingAge Range: AdultGenre: Historical Fiction, Greek Mythology, LGBTRepresentation: m/m relationship Rating: ★★★★★ Synopsis: Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. By all rights their… Continue reading the song of achilles – madeline miller | review