check in for the first half of 2021 | mid-year freakout book tag

Can’t believe half the year has gone just like that. Seems like everything is expedited because of the COVID situation. Even though nothing much really happened in my life from January to June, I’m enjoying life as it is. Certain days are easier than others while thoughts and worries just plagued me on other days. Regardless, mentally and physically, I’m doing well, and I hope that you are too.

Although I wasn’t tagged by anyone to do the mid-year freakout book tag: 2021 edition, I thought it would be interesting to see what my answers are this year.

Since 2021 is just a blur continuation of last year, I personally didn’t achieve much or have any insane life-changing situations happen to me, I’ll just mention things that has a particular impact on myself:
➜ found out tian guan ci fu and mo dao zu shi by moxiang tongxiu & became obsessed
➜ finally landed myself a job after being unemployed for a year
➜ balloted a number for an apartment after trying three times
➜ as of today, I’ve just passed the 200 books milestone

Hopes for the rest of 2021:
➜ reach 435 followers on my blog (currently at 404!)
➜ read 300-350 books (now at 220!)
➜ bookstagram… maybe?
➜ read 5-10 books a month now that I’m working.
➜ be happy, healthy and kind.

☾☾☾☾☾

WHAT IS THE BEST BOOK THAT YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2021?

Can’t really just choose one but I loved The Silence of Bones by June Hur, Clues to the Universe by Christina Li, The Mirror Season by Anna-Marie McLemore, and The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He. All of them have a special qualities in terms of their world, the plot and the characters that I absolutely loved.

WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR FAVORITE SEQUEL OF THE FIRST HALF OF THE YEAR?

The Dragon of Jin-Sayeng by K.S. Villoso wins this position. The author wrapped up this trilogy brilliantly. Everything is packed into a conclusion while adding more elements of the world into it.

IS THERE A NEW RELEASE THAT YOU HAVEN’T READ YET BUT YOU’RE REALLY EXCITED TO?

Any new release in this page, honestly. For the first half of 2021, here is a release for each month that I’m desperate to read.

  • jan: winterkeep – kristin cashore (need to read bitterblue first)
  • feb: the gilded ones – namina forna
  • mar: chain of iron – cassandra clare
  • apr: somewhere between bitter and sweet – laekan zea kemp
  • may: luck of the titanic – stacey lee
  • jun: ace of spades – faridah àbíké-íyímídé

WHAT IS YOUR MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEAR?

Here’s one for each month too cause I can’t choose. What an awesome list of books by Asian authors.

  • jul: she who became the sun – shelley parker-chan
  • aug: how we fall apart – katie zhao
  • sep: iron widow – xiran jay zhao
  • oct: jade fire gold – june c.l. tan
  • nov: our violent ends – chloe gong
  • dec: jade legacy – fonda lee

WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT SO FAR?

Not gonna go into any in-depth discussion on why I didn’t like these books but you can read my reviews.

WHO IS YOUR FICTIONAL CRUSH FROM THIS YEAR?

Hua Cheng and Xie Lian from Heaven Official’s Blessing are a package deal so for this question, it’s the both of them. Hua Cheng’s love and adoration for Xie Lian spans 800 years.

As a romantic at heart, how can I discount his dedication for the only person he has ever loved? Xie Lian, once he found out about Hua Cheng’s feelings, was accepting and loving towards the ghost king. 😍😍 So here I’m here just wishing all the best for them.

WHO IS YOUR NEW FAVORITE CHARACTER?

I think Meddeline from Dial A for Aunties as she was bloody funny when flustered at hiding a body during a wedding her family was booked for.

A BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY?

The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas topped my charts for romantic push-and-pull and one-sided pining that is obvious to everyone else but the heroine.

It was everything I wanted to read then, and the more I think about it, the more I swoon at Aaron’s actions. The author wonderfully used the slow burn and “enemies” to lovers tropes.

YOUR FAVORITE BOOK TO MOVIE/TV SHOW THAT YOU’VE SEEN SO FAR?

Not a huge fan of book-to-movie/tv show because I would rather my first experience be reading the novel. An example is To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy by Jenny Han. I’ve read the books but don’t think I’ll ever watch the movies. Shadow and Bone fit into this category too. Expectations are too high.

BUT! After watching Heaven Official’s Blessing on Netflix, I immediately went hunting for more content after finding out it’s a novel. I was determined to read the book despite it being over 2000 pages entirely translated by fans. I’ll attempt to read the Taiwanese version which is in traditional Chinese instead of the simplistic that I’m used to. I’m sure it’ll be beautiful reading it in the language the author has wrote. There’ll be more nuances to discover.

WHAT IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK THAT YOU HAVE BOUGHT?

I will do a book haul at the end of year, most probably, maybe…?

  • the ones we’re meant to find – joan he
  • six crimson cranes – elizabeth lim
  • heaven official’s blessing (volume 1-4) – moxiang tongxiu

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE POST THAT YOU HAVE WRITTEN SO FAR THIS YEAR?

15 Asian-authored books featuring siblings

Hi, welcome back~ Taking a break from reviews, today’s post is a recommendation list! With it being Asian and Pacific Islander (API) Heritage Month, I’m here with Asian-authored books featuring sibling relationships. In this list, some siblings are close while others are like strangers. Some…

Keep reading

WHAT ARE 6 BOOKS THAT YOU WANT TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?

Since I’ve already listed my anticipated releases for the rest of the year, I’m just listing backlisted books:

  • the devil and the dark water – stuart turton
  • ninth house – leigh bardugo
  • with the fire on high – elizabeth acevedo
  • the silvered serpents – roshani chokshi
  • the priory of the orange tree – samantha shannon
  • darius the great is not okay – adib khorram

Gonna read most of these in July actually, so yay!

☾☾☾☾☾

That’s all for this post! I always liked to do such posts so that I have an idea of what I loved and what I didn’t in the first half of the year.

let’s chat:
what was your favorite and most disappointed book that you’ve read from january to june?

16 thoughts on “check in for the first half of 2021 | mid-year freakout book tag”

  1. I really really want to read MDZS and TGCF (and watch its donghua adaptation) but I know I will fall into the rabbit hole like I did with The Untamed 😭😭😭 I think the next season of TGCF is its last season right? I think I’m going to wait until then and binge read the danmei… and hopefully it will be enough until the live action comes around!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tasya!!! do it and be in the same rabbit hole as me. ahaha i totally get that feeling omg. the untamed just left me not knowing what to do for a while. tgcf even more so. not sure about the donghua of tgcf but the live action will take 8 months to film or something, and they might not be released immediately after too. my next danmei novel will be MDZS so wish me luck!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I wanna read The Spanish Love Deception and Dial A for Aunties SO badly so I’m so glad you loved them!! It looks like you’ve had an impressive reading year so far (220 books omg you go!!) and hope you read many more fabulous books this year!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. the ones we’re meant to find was such a wonderful book, i’m so glad you loved it as much as i did!! ace of spades is also wonderful so i hope you enjoy it as well. a lot of people didn’t like the silvered serpents, but i was one of the few who did, and hopefully you will too! there are so many wonderful (especially asian!) books coming out soon, and i can’t wait till they’re all out, loved reading your answers for this tag!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you, ahaana! you’re the sweetest~ 💖 roshani chokshi’s one of my fav authors so i’m crossing my fingers that i’ll be favouring it like you do. i know, asian books are ruling my tbr this year. i can’t believe i’m reading so much of it these few years when i barely picked up any previously. what an awesome turn of events.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment